Praire Dog Guns General Info License To Carry Classes  Lessons &  Firearms Contact US

Prairie Dog Guns


 How long is the CHL class?

 The Texas Department of Public Safety requires a minimum of 4 hrs of training classroom + range time for a new  applicant.

 What is the cost of the CHL/ license To Carry class?

 State of Texas will charge $40.00 check states web site starts Sept 1 2017


 Do I need to bring lunch with me?

 You may bring your lunch, There will be a lunch break if needed.

 
What topics are covered in the CHL class?

 Deadly force, dispute resolution, concealed handgun law, gun safety and storage, selection of a carry gun,  legislative  changes, signs, handgun accuracy training, and the handgun proficiency test.

 Where is the class location?

 Lone Star Cowboy Church of Nevada Texas

 123 cowboy way Nevada Texas 75173

 
Who is eligible to obtain a Texas CHL/ License To Carry?

 You must be at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age and on active duty in the U.S. Military, and not a  convicted  felon. Eligibility requirements are listed on the Texas DPS website.

 When I go to the range for the shooting qualification, what do I need to bring to the range?


 1. A .22 caliber or larger revolver or semi-automatic that is in good working condition.

 2. 50 – 100 rounds of factory ammunition. RELOADS ARE NOT ALLOWED.

 3. Hearing protection if you have your own; otherwise ear protection can be purchased for a small fee at the range.

 4. Eye protection if you have your own; otherwise eye protection can be purchased for a small fee at the range.

 5. Clothing that is suitable for a shooting range and weather conditions.

 If I qualify with a revolver, can I carry a semi-auto handgun?Yes, once you qualify you can carry any firearm and  caliber of you Choice that falls into the hand gun classification.

 At what distances do I have to shoot from during the range qualification?

 From a standing position, you will fire 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds from 7 yards, and 10 rounds from 15  yards. The target will be a B-27 silhouette.

 What is the passing score for the range qualification?

 You must score 70%+, or 175 points out of the possible 250 points in order to pass.

 What happens if I do not pass the range qualification?

 You may take the range proficiency test up to 3 times before you are classified as failed.
 You must have 50 rounds of ammunition for each attempt.


General Information